Wednesday, April 29, 2009

I have a favorite date.

I don't know why this is, but I like the date March the third.
It's the day I decided (at the age of 11) that I would get married.
It's just a day that I choose as my own. I think because it's two threes, and I like threes, and it's in march, and I like march. I also have to share my birthday with my dad, so my birthday is usually spent "remembering that it's my dad's birthday" over compensating for it being my birthday, which made more sense when I was little, and I'm pretty sure I'll have to go through therapy over one day.

So I claimed march the third.

Here are some other things that are great about March the Third, thanks to Wikipedia.

Bosnia was established, It's IRA GLASS'S birthday (I just read this, like I never knew it before, this makes perfect sense...because I love Ira Glass.) It's also Duncan Phillips the drummer of the Newsboys birthday (I feel like I knew this, I was eleven....nevermind.)
Well nothing else really happened. Ira Glass and Bosnia were born! Yay!

Maybe I'll get married on march third. Eh, that's all.

Tuesday, April 21, 2009

I didn't know I had to go to work today.

I didn't go.
They called me awhile ago, but it was too late.
Though, oh well, I hate Macy's. I don't care if I get fired.
I have to work tomorrow. I can't pretend I didn't know two days in a row.
Because I'm really quite good about checking voicemail. And, they have my home phone.
Hopefully tomorrow starbucks will call. And I can quit Macy's.






Forever.

Friday, April 17, 2009

Tweet tweet!

Reading famous people's twitters, if they are personal accounts of course, are like seeing into their home lives, and you're like "You're rich and famous, fine, what? you want to be a normal person too?! Nuh uh!!"

Reading Mandy Moore's twitter, and thinking...you have a home life Mandy? You have a home life with RYAN ADAMS?
That is not a home life...this is a reality show waiting to happen.... it has to be.

Monday, April 13, 2009

Why the Coffee Beanery closing has screwed up my life:

Today was the first monday that I normally would've been at work for 8.5 hours but instead was not doing anything. It's really quite a strange phenomenon that's happening in my life. I haven't been unemployed in 4 years; I haven't had just one job in 3 years, so just having one job that I work there roughly once a month is just mind bogglingly(?) awful.
I was generally happy the past few weeks over the beanery's end. I was mad at how stupid everything had gotten, and I was sick of being around the people all the time. I needed a break from teenage partiers and general idiots, I needed a break from the world's more unorganized boss, I needed a break from having to be around Fred's lovey dovey 'emily is so pretty even though she was my second choice of the orgin girls' self all the time. I was glad that it was finally done. That it wouldn't just be a cover up for why everything looked like crap all the time, and why I was always out of everything anyone ever wanted. I was sick of people blaming me for not having sinful sundae in stock (and threatening to "tell dave on me", wtf was he going to do? seriously? It was all his fault.) The end seemed like such a great thing. Until now it's happened.
I don't want the beanery, per say, back. I just want my consistancy back. My job there affected my life in such certain, little, particular, crucial ways; I don't know why I didn't think about it before, but it's totally screwed up my life. I'll give you two rock hard examples of why:

Example 1)
Today my iPod ran out of charge. This never, I repeat NEVER happens. I'm pretty sure my iPod has died ONE time in the nearly a year I've owned him. Robert (my iPod,) always has battery charge; the only time he died was because something weird happened and maybe it got turned on in my car or something all night, or wasn't on lock in my purse, and then decided it needed to reformat. This was only about a month ago. And it's not like I have any means other than my computer to charge him, my dock only plays it won't charge if it's playing.
Why did Robert always have charge? Because, three days a week he was sitting on a charger for 9 hours at a time. When I was at work. Robert ran out of battery today, because he hasn't been on that charger.

Example 2)
I have no money. Now, this is not because of paychecks; I still have a beanery paycheck coming, and it's only about three days later than normal (if we got them on Friday, when they were dated, but that didn't matter because we never got them at a consistant time anyway.)
It's tips. I don't have any tips!
I don't know about any of my coworkers, but I made about 25 dollars a day on tips, at least on Mondays and Wednesday. And I usually made around 20 on Fridays, sometimes more like 30 bucks or more depending on if anyone else was working.
This is also because I've gone to starbucks like three times in the past week, and my lack of spendin' change (tips) and free coffee (beanery) I've spent like 10 bucks on coffee!
(Note: I'm aware I don't have to get coffee out places, I know, but old habits die hard.)

The Beanery's death is ruining my life.
And I have no job. That counts.
I don't want to go and learn new things. I just want to read books and listen to Belle and Sebastian and make weird made up drinks in the blender all day.



I miss my job.





I even miss Jimmy Brady.

Sunday, April 12, 2009

Spring is full.

Spring is full of new ideas, and new plants and smells and bugs and things. It's the resurgence of warm weather, and the beginning of the end of semesters, all the things that eventually become summer. I love the spring. There is something to love about new beginnings. Things are fresh and new, and when things are fresh and new you really can't not love them, there's nothing to hate; and if you hate when there's nothing to hate , well, you're just too pessimistic.

Spring is about new friends, and the return of allergies and rainy migraine headache days; I'll take them all with a spoonful of a sugar, that is too say, I hope it doesn't get stuck in my throat and burn. I'll take it with a swig of pomagranate tea, maybe, that seems to be something that doesn't have any negative side effects.

I want to paint, I want to ride my bike, I want to fall in love with someone. I never can master the third one; I can't even master unrequited love, and that isn't that hard. Last spring I was all consumed with old love, maybe showing a head, maybe nothing again. Nothing again. But that was then, and this is now, and I'm ready. At the very least I'll ride my bike.
When I get around to fixing the chain.

Sping is when I want to take walks, and when I want to sit on the swing in the backyard. I want to cherish the time when it's warm, but not too warm for me; sunny before it hurts. The spring is well worn out metaphor, even a simile too. But cliches are usually cliches for good reason.

Wednesday, April 8, 2009

Sometimes I miss things...

Like you, for example.





I was looking at my "edit entries" page, this is really quite strange; I have round abouts ten entries that I've typed out three or four sentences (sometimes up to a paragragh, sometimes less) but apparently didn't finish my thoughts. Thoughts about my birthday, thoughts about just life in general, thoughts about my trip, nothing finished. Why am I surprised? I am not, but it's still a little sad.

But, here we go, none the less, this one I'll finish.
( 10 hours later... )

A lot of things have happened since I've written anything of substance on here; a lot of nothing, those are the kind of things that happen to me.

Okay, with the exception of meeting Andrew Bird, that was pretty neat. Not gonna lie.

First it was my birthday. I had a little bit of an emotional breakdown en route to turning 20, I don't think that I've gotten over it just yet. Mostly because at the moment I have nothing going for me, I have no money, I'm not in school, and I'm getting over strep throat. Last week this was not the case. Week by week the age of "20" is looking less and less appealing. But, like I said, I'm a little bit in a rut, and can't really look at things the right way.
My birthday was not bad. Nothing really happened though, I got a new bookshelf, which I'm extremely proud of. It has sections. It's big. It's from IKEA.

Inbetween March and my Birthday I went to Louisville with Sarah Herndon, she is very nice. We went and saw someone I've been wanting to see since I was about 15. Get ready for it.....Sondre Lerche!! He was the most adorable person in the entire world. Even though we saw him in a huge auditorium with a lot of old people, and the only way to see his face was on a jumbotron. He is the most adorable person in the world on a Jumbotron even. I challenge you to see him, hear him talk and joke, talk about Steve Carrell and how much he loves Norway, and for you NOT to giggle yourself to near death. Unless you're a boy, because if that happened to you and you're a boy...I'm not quite sure I'd want to know.
The other thing we did in Louisville was to eat some pizza. It was good. Burt Reynolds was airbrushed on the wall behind us, and Fred tipped our waiter (who did nothing, that's kinda the shtick there) like 10 bucks or something. Sometimes Fred is borderline.

And then we thought the beanery was going to close and I was totally okay with it. I totally despised everyone there and everything about the stupid place, and my stupid manager, and good riddence to them all! But then, we didn't close at the end of February, and just like every other time I've been angry with Dave Clark I got over it and worked until I got sick. Which then, over my sickness, a month later than we thought, the beanery did in fact close. It's gone now.

But, during that time I went to Missouri and that was a totally overflowing basket of goodtimes! Like an easter basket, or something my grandmother might bid on at a silent auction. Baskets full of fun. It was cool, Kansas City is cool, Lawrence KS is terribly cool, museums and good chinese food and walks and sunny weather, all very cool.
The first day we had starbucks, the second day we went to Kansas, I ate an elk burger; also, they have McDonald's for reststops in Kansas, and Urban Outfitters, and hipsters. Then we saw Andrew Bird, he was great; actually, Andrew Bird is the most wonderful musically inclined prettiest man ever. I rather enjoyed Mr. Bird and his violin and whistling. He signed my moleskine, it was an awkward, though perfect, few minutes. Jane was too scared to talk to him. Yeah, I didn't get it either.
The third day we hung out with this boy Jane liked, he was nice, he was a hipster; he also swore that he hated the beatles because they are the downfall of rock and roll, Jane agreed and I'll never forgive her.
The fourth day I think it rained a little, and there was a chili party, that was fun.
The last few days are kinda running together now...that was like three weeks ago. We ate pizza, I know that, we listened/watched and quoted Stella and Michael Ian Black and Michael Showalter a lot, we walked around, we went to some museums (one two times).
Then I flew home and got a seat all to myself.

When I came home I got out my bike to fix it. (Which my dad has now almost fixed, the only problem is that the chain jumps gears. Ehh, that's not very good.)
It was really warm and I wore long shorts, I look terrible in shorts of any kind. But they were comfortable. I even said in the car "It's a shame that things that are so comfortable are so unflattering and ugly, case in point, my long shorts today...." to Fred, to which he responded with....silence.
Fred is very reassuring. NOT.

Brian was in town, he came over that Saturday; Kaylee, Fred and Ashley Ross also came over. Fred pouted all night and went home early. Brian youtubed slacklining and we just stared. Sometimes I forget that we are all girls and just don't get things that boys like. My dog likes Brian a lot; but, who doesn't? (haha,)
Then my parents came home from the trip they were on.
It was my mom's birthday.

Michael Scott quite Dunder Mifflin. This could turn into horrible or brilliant television....Office writers, I'm counting on you....
Demetri Martin's show is a lot retarded. But I still like Demetri Martin.

I went back to work, and life went on as unentertaining as ever.
I got angry with Dave at work. Nothing else new happened. We all went out for Pizza, then I went to Lizzy and Julie's for their little get together; Fred came too, he was unimpressed with how "uncool" their get together was. I am unimpressed with him that he was expecting something more exciting.
(I'm not meaning to attack Fred at the end of paragraphs, I'm just telling it like it is....man.)

And, then Sara and I got stuck in Cincinnati because her car almost exploded.

THEN.
I GOT
STREP
THROAT.
I'M IMPRESSED YOU'VE READ THIS FAR.

And now I have no job and haven't done anything productive for a week.

TADA!
I have a lot of Death Cab on my itunes now, I really don't know how I feel about it just yet.